Riska, Dan-Olof Wilhelm CURRICULUM VITAE

Born: March 29, 1944, Stockholm, Sweden Citizenship: Finnish

Married, one daughter

Degrees and equivalent

Second lieutenant, Finnish Defence Forces, 1963

M.Sc. (Engineering), Helsinki University of Technology, 1967

Licentiate in Engineering, Helsinki University of Technology, 1970

Doctor of Technology, Helsinki University of Technology, 1974

Doctor of Philosophy, honoris causa, Uppsala University, 2001

Professional Career

Secretary General, Research Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of Helsinki, 1968-69

Stipendiate, Nordic Institute for Theoretical Atomic Physics, Copenhagen, 1969-71

Visiting Assistant Professor, State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1971-74

Assistant Professor of Physics, Michigan State University, 1974-77

Associate Professor of Physics, Michigan State University, 1977-81

Professor of Physics, University of Helsinki, 1980-2005

Senior researcher, Academy of Finland 31.08.1999-31.07.2000

Director, Helsinki Institute of Physics, 2000-2012

Visiting appointments and consultancy tasks

Consultant at the Institute of Physics, Outokumpu Oy 1980-84

Visiting Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory, 1990

Distinguished visitor, University of Maryland at College Park, 1993

Scientific journal editing activity

Associate editor for Nuclear Physics, Physica Scripta, 1982-1997

Chairman, The Board of Physica Scripta 1994-1999

Fysiikka tänään (Fi: Physics today), Managing editor 1995-96

Associate editor, Nuclear Physics A, 1996-

Member, Editorial Board of Few-Body Systems (Acta Physica Austriaca) 2000-2010

Member, Editorial Board of the Physical Review C, 2002-2004

Scientific policy and advisory activity

Member, Korkeakouluneuvosto (Finnish University Council) 1987-1989

Member, Evaluation committee, NORDITA, Copenhagen 1988

Chairman, Subfield committee on hadron and nuclear physics, NORDITA, Copenhagen 1990-96

Chairman, Program Advisory Committee, The Svedberg Laboratory, Uppsala University 1991-2001

Member, Program Advisory Committee, Accelerator Laboratory, University of Jyväskylä, 1993-1999

Member, The Board of the Imatran Voima Foundation, 1993 – 1997

Finnish Physical Society, Vice-chairman 1995-97. Chairman 1997-1999

Member, Evaluation committee, European Center for Theoretical Studies in Nuclear Physics and Related Areas ECT*, Trento 1996

Member, Scientific Council (Beirat) of the Institute of Nuclear Physics, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH 1997-2002

Member, Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC) Subcommittee on DOE-Sponsored Intermediate Energy Nuclear Science 1998

Member, The Board of the Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics NORDITA 1999-2001, vice chairman 2000, chairman 2001

Delegation of the Finnish Academies of Science, Vice-president 1999-2000, President 2001-2002, Secretary General 2003-2005, Treasurer 2006 -2007

Member, Scientific Council, Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung GmbH, Darmstadt, 2000-2005

Member, Evaluation Committee for Subatomic Physics at the Faculty of Science, Lund University, 2001

Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board of the Centre for Underground Physics in Pyhäsalmi Mine (CUPP), 2001-2003

Member, Committee for evaluation of the young researcher programme, Royal Swedish Academy of Science, 2002

Member of the European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC), 2002-2004, vice-president 2004-2007

Member, Commission for Nuclear Physics C12, International Union for Pure and Applied Physics, 2002-2008, chairman 2009-2011

Delegate for Finland, CERN Council, 2003-2013, vice president 2010-2013

Member, Scientific and Technical Council, Service de Physique Nucléaire, CEA Saclay, 2003-2007

Evaluation panel of COSY and the Forschungszentrum Jülich contribution to the Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research FAIR, Helmholtz Gemeinschaft, member 2005

Nordic Data Grid Facility Steering Committee, member 2006-2011

The Board of the Fortum Foundation, member 2007-2012

The Governing Board of the CERN Pension Fund, member 2007-, chairman 2011-2013

The Board of the Finnish Institute for Molecular Medicine, member 2007-2010

U.S.Department of Energy Review Panel for the Nuclear Physics Proposal of the Laboratory of Nuclear Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, member 2007

Hadron and Accelerator Physics Program Advisory Council, Institut für Kernphysik, Forschungszentrum Jülich, member 2008-2010

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft Excellence Initiatives Review Panel Natural Sciences 2, member 2010

Council, Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research FAIR GmbH, Delegate for Finland 2010-

American Institute of Physics John T. Tate Medal Selection Committee, Member 2011

Review Panel for the Statutory Review of the Experts Boards and Committees of the European Science Foundation, Member 2011

Norwegian National Promotion committee for Professorships in Physics, Member 2011-

Cyprus Research and Educational Foundation, Board of Trustees, Member 2014, Chairman 2015-

The Cyprus Institute, Board of Trustees, Member 2014, Chairman 2015-

Fellowships of scientific academies and professional societies

The Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters, Vice President 1996-98, President 1998-2001, Treasurer 2006 –

The Finnish Academy of Technical Sciences, 1983

The Swedish Academy of Technical Sciences in Finland, 1981, Member of the board 1996-2001, Honorary Fellow 2011

The American Physical Society, 1994

The Institute of Physics, London, 1999

The Finnish Academy of Science and Letters, 2001

The Royal Society of Science and Letters, Uppsala, 2001

The Royal Swedish Academy of Science, 2003

Awards and honors

Recipient of the E.J. Nyström Prize of the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters, 1994

Knights Cross First Class, the White Rose (Finland), 1996

Commander, the Lion of Finland, 2006